Quaker State 400

The Quaker State 400 presented by Walmart, commonly known as simply the Quaker State 400, is a 400.5-mile (644.5 km) annual NASCAR Cup Series race held at Kentucky Speedway in Sparta, Kentucky.

The inaugural event was held on July 9, 2011 and was won by Kyle Busch. From 2012 to 2014, the race was held the week before the Coke Zero 400 at Daytona International Speedway on Independence Day weekend. From 2015 to 2017, the event moved back two weeks, preceding Daytona and New Hampshire, In 2018, the Quaker State became the 19th race of the season as the New Hampshire 301 at New Hampshire Motor Speedway will become the 20th race of the season. Cole Custer is the defending winner.

NBC returned to NASCAR broadcasting with the 2015 running of the Quaker State 400 after four years on TNT.

The event eventuated following a lawsuit in which Kentucky Speedway claimed NASCAR had violated federal antitrust laws in 2005. In 2008, the speedway was sold to Bruton Smith, hoping that the track could hold a race by 2011 and after four years, the former speedway owners abandoned the lawsuit.[1] In August 2010, NASCAR announced that the track could hold a Cup Series event in 2011.Seven months later, Royal Dutch Shell’s Quaker State brand was announced as sponsor and the 267 laprace held on July 9, was won by Kyle Busch. The race was plagued by a massive traffic problem where many of the fans who expected to attend the race were turned away after several hours on Interstate 71. Following the problem, Kentucky Speedway announced that they bought more land for parking and began to work with the state government to improve traffic around the speedway in time for the 2012 race.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *