Canada Day House Party 2020

There will be glowing hearts in the True North for Canada Day, but the celebrations in our home and native land will be less free this year.

Pandemic restrictions still in place in many places in the country continue to limit the number of people that can gather – 200 for outdoor events in Alberta, 50 in New Brunswick, Prince Edward Island, British Columbia, Ontario and Quebec. Recommendations of maintaining physical distancing of at least 2 metres are also still in effect.

Across the country, fireworks, concerts and parades have been cancelled, replaced by virtual Canada Day events, including in the nation’s capital.

Ottawa’s traditional national celebration is moving online with day and evening shows that will be broadcast on CPAC and the Canadian Heritage Facebook and YouTube pages.

Canada Day Across the Country (1 p.m. to 2 p.m. ET), hosted by singer Serena Ryder and TV and radio host Pierre-Yves Lord, will feature the National Arts Centre Orchestra, Julie Nesrallah and the Atlantic Ballet of Canada.

Canada Day Together (8 p.m. to 10 p.m. ET), also hosted by Ryder and Lord, will feature Alanis Morrissette, Avril Lavigne, Sarah McLachlan, Alan Doyle, The Sheepdogs, and many other performers in original collaborations. The show will end with a montage of fireworks from previous Canada Day events.

“It’s kind of epic, actually,” Ryder says of the shift to virtual celebrations.

The shows will feature in-home performances from musicians, dancers, and spoken word artists.

“Usually, we do it at Parliament Hill and everybody comes together in one spot. So this is actually giving us this, you know, window into where the people are from, which is so cool. And they’re from all over Canada,” Ryder said on CTV’s Your Morning Tuesday.The shows cut across all cultures and genres, says Ryder.“It’s stunning. I’m so excited.”

Bet Awards 2020 Live

Get ready for the BET Awards! It was announced in April that, due to the coronavirus pandemic, the 2020 awards show would air virtually “using an array of innovative techniques and artist-generated content. Comedian and Insecure actress Amanda Seales will be hosting, with performances by Alicia Keys, John Legend, Lil Wayne and more.

Drake leads the pack with six nominations at the show, followed closely by Megan Thee Stallion and Roddy Ricch, who each have five. On top of that, Beyoncé will receive this year’s Humanitarian Award thanks to her efforts to fight racial inequality, her generosity during the coronavirus crisis and the strides made by her BeyGOOD initiative.

Additionally, the BET Awards will honor Nicolas Johnson, Timbaland, Swizz Beatz, and D-Nice as the Shine a Light honorees, which recognizes exceptional resilience, ingenuity and creativity in the face of adversity. This year’s honorees demonstrate how art and education can unite and inspire even during the most challenging of times.

This year marks the 20th anniversary of the show and the 40th anniversary of the BET network, so despite the circumstances, BET is planning a very special night. Read on for more details on how to watch, who’s performing, nominees and more.

When and how to watch: The BET Awards will air Sunday, June 28 from 8-11 p.m. ET/PT on both CBS and BET, as well as another ViacomCBS network, BET Her, for cable subscribers, or you can stream using CBS All Access, which you can sign up for here.

Who’s nominated? In addition to Drake and Megan, nominees include Beyoncé, Lizzo, Chloe X Halle, Travis Scott, Cardi B, Nicki Minaj and many more.

See the full list of BET Awards nominees here.

Who’s performing? Keys, Chloe X Halle, DaBaby, Jennifer Hudson, Legend, Lil Wayne and Megan Thee Stallion are performing, plus D Smoke, Jonathan McReynolds, Kane Brown, Roddy Ricch, SiR, Summer Walker, Usher, Wayne Brady and more. Up-and-coming artists Masego and Lonr are also set to perform on the BET Amplified Music Stage.

There will also be tributes in honor of the late Kobe Bryant and Little Richard. Rapper Lil Wayne will perform as a tribute to the NBA legend, while the multi-talented Wayne Brady will honor the Rock and Roll Hall of Famer.

How to watch the preshow: Hosted by Terrence J and Erica Ash, the BET Awards preshow will air at 7 p.m. ET/PT on BET.

Utah Championship Golf 2020 Live

Nearly every year for the past three decades, many top golfers in the world have been coming to Utah to compete in the Utah Championship on the Korn Ferry Tour, formerly known as the Ben Hogan, Nike, Buy.com, Nationwide and Web.com tours.

Tournament officials have tried to push the proposition that golf fans should come out to watch golfers who in a year or two will be winning on the PGA Tour. Golfers such as John Daly, Zach Johnson and Cameron Champ have gone on to win on the PGA Tour after winning in Utah. Yet crowds have remained quite small for the most part over the years.

This year, no one will be twisting anyone’s arms to come and watch these future stars of the PGA Tour compete Thursday through Sunday at Oakridge Country Club.

Travelers Championship Golf 2020 Live

Golf fans enjoyed two weeks of incredible action at the Charles Schwab Challenge and RBC Heritage, with both tournaments accompanied by fantastic leaderboards and fun finishes. Now, the PGA Tour is running its third event since returning from a three-month hiatus amid the coronavirus pandemic with the Travelers Championship at TPC River Highlands.

The Travelers Championship hosts an awesome field at what has become one of the premier destinations on the PGA Tour’s circuit. Unfortunately, the field strength did take a small hit with the news that world No. 4 Brooks Koepka and last week’s RBC Heritage winner Webb Simpson were among five golfers who decided withdraw from the tournament due to COVID-19-related concerns.

Even with all of the issues this week, the final round is setting up to be fantastic. Both Brendan Todd and Dustin Johnson soared on Saturday, shooting 9-under 61 to catapult toward the top of the leaderboard. Todd leads by two heading into the final round but will have Johnson, Kevin Streelman, Mackenzie Hughes, Bryson DeChambeau and more all nipping at his heels only a few strokes back.

Round 4 — Sunday

Round starts: 8 a.m.

Featured holes: 8 a.m. – 6 p.m. — PGA Tour Live
Early TV coverage: 1-3 p.m. on Golf Channel

Live TV coverage: 3-6 p.m. on CBS
Live simulcast: 3-6 p.m. on CBSSports.com and the CBS Sports App

Radio: 1-6 p.m. on PGA Tour Radio

Poirier vs Hooker Live

It all goes down later tonight (Sat., June 27, 2020) at UFC on ESPN 12 live on ESPN/ESPN+ from inside UFC APEX in Las Vegas, Nevada, as former UFC lightweight title challenger Dustin Poirier tries to get back in the win column when he meets rising star Dan Hooker in the main event.

In addition to the lightweight headliner, welterweight knockout artist Mike Perry will attempt to win without a corner when he clashes with Mickey Gall in the co-main event and former light heavyweight Gian Villante will test his luck at heavyweight in a battle with big man Maurice Greene. Fight fans will also get to see promising young talent like Sean Woodson, Brendan Allen, Youssef Zalal, and Kay Hansen scattered throughout the ESPN card.

Online
UFC on ESPN 12: ‘Poirier vs. Hooker’ entire fight card can be viewed via the ESPN+ streaming app.

Television
UFC on ESPN 12: ‘Poirier vs. Hooker’ main card and “Prelims” can be viewed via ESPN. Check your local providers or click here for instant access to ESPN.
UFC on ESPN 12: ‘Poirier vs. Hooker’ is also accessible via Roku, AndroidTV, Amazon’s Kindle Fire, Apple TV, Google’s Chromecast, Playstation 4 and Xbox One.

Tablet/Mobile
UFC on ESPN 12: ‘Poirier vs. Hooker’ entire fight card can be viewed via ESPN+ streaming app through Google Play and iTunes stores.

Indy Richmond 300 Live

The Indy Richmond 300 (formally known as the SunTrust Indy Challenge) is an IndyCar Series race held at Richmond Raceway near Richmond, Virginia from 2001-2009, in 2020 the race was revived. From 2001-2007, the race was scheduled for 250 laps (187.5 miles), from 2008-2009, the race distance was extended to 300 laps.

The event debuted as a Saturday night race in 2001. The event became one of the more popular races on the schedule, and was arguably the most successful IndyCar race held in traditional “NASCAR Country”. The race hearkened back to the classic short track “bull ring” style of racing known for during the AAA and USAC eras of Indy car racing.

ISC traditionally paired the race with other open-wheeled racing. The NASCAR Whelen Modified Tour once accompanied the race, but in later years USAC open-wheel short track racing had been on the undercard.

AAA held two National Championship sprint car races at the track when it was still a half-mile dirt track under the name Strawberry Hill Speedway. Later, NASCAR sanctioned two Championship Car events at nearby Martinsville Speedway in 1952 and 1953.

On July 30, 2009, RIR track President Doug Fritz announced that the SunTrust Indy Challenge would not be on the 2010 IndyCar Series schedule. The costs to put on the event and possible loss of sponsorship was cited as the reason for the IRL and RIR to not come to an agreement on the event.[1]

On August 28, 2019, it was announced that the IndyCar Series would be returning to Richmond in 2020, replacing the ABC Supply 500 at Pocono Raceway. However, due to schedule changes brought upon by the COVID-19 pandemic and “local restrictions”, IndyCar announced on May 21 that the race had been cancelled

Pocono Organics 150 Live

Long Pond, Pa.-based Pocono Organics has partnered with Pocono Raceway for its 2020 doubleheader weekend on June 27-28.

The June 27 Pocono Organics 150 NASCAR Gander RV & Outdoors Truck Series Race will benefit Farm Aid, followed June 28 by the Pocono 350 NASCAR Cup Series Race. The events will be without race fans because of the COVID-19 pandemic.

However, 1,000 essential personnel will be inside the track, according to a news release, and will be fed with entirely organic produce from Pocono Organics.

The partnership between Pocono Organics, Farm Aid and the Rodale Institute will raise resources to benefit family farmers who continue to operate during the pandemic.

Ashley Walsh, founder of Pocono Organics and granddaughter of Pocono Raceway founders, was instrumental in building the partnership with Farm Aid and the Rodale Institute to create an event that will help

“Farmers have always worked extremely hard, but have been working even harder during the COVID-19 pandemic to serve their local communities when people couldn’t get food in stores,” Walsh said in the release. “One of the positive outcomes from the pandemic is a stronger, local connection between consumers and family farms.”

The raceway menu will be prepared by Food Network’s “Chopped” champion chef Lindsay McClain of the Pocono Organics group. The menu includes produce grown at the raceway, for menu items including Grilled Summer Melon Salad and Hemp Pasta Ratatouille.

“Rodale Institute is incredibly excited to bring regenerative organic agriculture to the NASCAR audience in partnership with Pocono Organics,” Jeff Moyer, Rodale Institute CEO, said in the release. “The Race for Family Farms is an opportunity for our nation’s sports fans to learn more about the critical role that organic and local farmers play in healing people and the planet.”

Pocono Raceway 2020 Live

Before the 2020 NASCAR Cup Series season began, the two-race weekend at Pocono Raceway was viewed as the most unique setup on the schedule.

After competing in three midweek races in May and June, running a pair of competitions following four days off is just part of the new normal.

Saturday’s Pocono Organics 325 follows the most competitive race of the season to date at Talladega Superspeedway, which was won by Ryan Blaney.

Winning back-to-back races will be tough for Blaney, as he faces stiff competition from Pocono expert Kyle Busch and his Joe Gibbs Racing teammates who have dominated the track over the last three years.

Pocono Organics 325 Information

Date: Saturday, June 27

Start Time: 3:30 p.m. ET

TV: Fox

Live Stream: FoxSports.com or Fox Sports app

Global Pride 2020 Live

Just because Pride marches have been cancelled all over the world this year, doesn’t mean you can’t join in the party from home. In fact, on Saturday, June 27, Pride organisations from across the globe are coming together for Global Pride 2020, a worldwide celebration of the diverse LGBTQ+ community – and hundreds of millions are expected to tune in.

As part of an epic 24-hour live stream, the event will feature films, talks, performances and speeches from an array of musicians, performers, political leaders and human rights activists. Following the death of George Floyd and mass protests around the world, organisers are also working with Black Lives Matter in an effort to amplify Black voices. All participants have donated their time, and all funds raised will be donated to Pride organisations facing financial trouble.

An official media partner for the event, Time Out is running its own month-long Pride Worldwide campaign in the run-up to the event. Throughout June, we are celebrating LGBTQ+ communities throughout the world’s cultural capitals – plus the many creative ways they’ve kept keep the spirit of Pride alive in their cities during these surreal times.

Our #PrideWorldwide social campaign will culminate in a D.I.Y. celebration and watch party for the Global Pride event on June 27. We’ll be putting on our own ‘fringe’ programme of live-streamed talks, performances and DJ sets which you can catch on our Time Out London, Time Out New York and Time Out Chicago Instagram accounts.

How to stream Global Pride 2020

The all-day live stream of performances, talks, films and messages of support will be hosted on YouTube by choreographer and viral star Todrick Hall, as well as via iHeartRadio’s YouTube channel and the Global Pride website. Subtitles will be provided in multiple languages. You’ll also be able to catch two, Time Out-presented acts during the live stream:

Presented by Time Out Sydney: the fabulous performer Trevor Ashley gives the world some glamorous social-distancing tips as an iconic Hollywood star. June 27: from 5.55pm BST, 10.55am EDT, 00.55am AEST and June 28: from 5.11am BST, 3.11am EDT, 5.11pm AEST.

Presented by Time Out Singapore: queer zine founder and performance artist Worms performs a live reading of their spoken-word piece, ‘We named ourselves after dirt’. From 9.10am BST, 4.10am EDT, 6.10pm AEST.

Full lineup for our Instagram live streams

‘Cultivating Joyful Rituals: A Meditation on Self-Reflection and Bravery’: Elijah McKinnon, self-proclaimed ‘pleasure activist’ and co-founder of intersectional web platform Open Television, kicks off Pride weekend with their top ‘euphoric ritual’ tips for these surreal times. On Time Out Chicago from 15.30pm BST, 10.30am EDT, 00.30am AEST.

A live Marie’s Crisis piano show: a brunch-time singalong with Marie’s Crisis’s Kenney Green (and he’s taking requests!). On Time Out New York from 5pm BST, 12pm EDT, 2am AEST.

Sink the Pink TV: five drag queens from the legendary LGBTQ+ collective talk about the music videos they’ve made with Little Mix, Mel C and more. On Time Out London from 6pm BST, 1pm EDT, 3am AEST.

Bright Light Bright Light (DJ set): the DJ (and Elton John and Scissor Sisters collaborator) brings his weird and wonderful record collection to your Instagram feed. On Time Out New York from 7pm BST, 2pm EDT, 4am AEST.

Planet Bushwig pre-show: join hostess (and Time Out New York cover star) Horrorchata for a conversation on all things drag before Bushwig’s big virtual event. On Time Out New York from 10pm BST, 5pm EDT, 7am AEST.

Show tunes with Lance Horne: the Emmy-awarding winning singer and composer takes requests. On Time Out New York from midnight BST, 7pm EDT, 9am AEST.

A 1,000-ft rainbow lighting: learn about the legacy of the Stonewall riots in New York, then take in a surprise light display over the NYC skyline. On Time Out New York from 02.20am BST, 21.20pm EDT, 11.20am AEST.

NHL Draft Lottery 2020 Live

Since the world was put on hold, it seems everything is now happening in phases. The 2020 NHL Draft Lottery will be no different, with a usual 15-team draw taking place first, and potentially a second event several weeks later.

The reason for the new procedure is the NHL’s 24-team playoff format that will have some of those 15 teams vying for spots in the Stanley Cup Playoffs. The goal is to keep the process as close to the normal plan as possible, while also trying to maintain the integrity of a qualification series to determine the final four seeds in each conference.

Without knowing which eight teams will lose the qulification rounds, only the seven clubs eliminated from playoff contention will know their final position tonight. The remaining spots will be assigned once the qualification round is complete.

How to watch

Start time: 8:00 PM EDT / 5:00 PM PDT
In Canada: Sportsnet, Sportsnet Now (English), TVA Sports (French)
In the USA: NBCSN, NHL Network
Elsewhere: Rogers NHL Live/NHL.tv

Three lotteries will be conducted today, with the 1st Lottery Draw conducted first, then separate lotteries for the second and third overall picks happening afterward.

Any of the 15 options has a chance to win the first lottery, but the qualification teams can only win the chance to participate in a Phase 2 lottery once the play-ins are complete. If that happens, the eight teams that play and lose in the qualification series will have equal odds — each a 12.5% chance — of winning the first overall pick in that secondary event.

As for tonight, the odds for the 15 slots are the same as they’ve been for a few years. As the league’s worst team, the Detroit Red Wings have an 18.5% chance of claiming the first overall pick, then the odds drop for each club from that point. If any team from eighth- to 15th-worst wins the first lottery, all the placeholder clubs will be part of a second phase. Adding up all their individual percentages, that equals a 24.5% chance of the qualifaction-round losers being the ones in the running for the top pick.

This convoluted format prevents a team from knowing that a loss in the play-ins will grant them a top-three pick. Also, by running 15 slots in this opening phase, the possibility of simply using these results for the bottom 15 teams remains intact should the NHL’s plans for a post-season need to be abandoned. For that reason, it will be important to pay attention to the specific placeholder slot that wins a lottery (should such a thing occur), because that may end up being an actual team. Montreal Canadiens fans will want to pay particular attention to Team A’s fortunes, as that’s the slot coinciding with the club’s 24th overall rank in the NHL this season.